BJP in Assam; Left wins Kerala; Jaya, Mamata retain power


BJP  in Assam; Left wins Kerala; Jaya, Mamata retain power

New Delhi,20May,2016: BJP registers a thumping victory in Assam as it wrests power from Congress; In Kerala, BJP opens its account for the first time with former Union Minister and senior BJP leader O Rajagopal winning the Nemom seat; Prime Minister Narendra Modi terms BJP's performance a victory for politics of development.While the country has Anand 'happiness' Assam has Sarbananda 'eternal happiness.' In the run up to the elections that is the way Prime Minister Narendra Modi introduced chief Ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal. And now that the results have come out, the Prime Minister's words echo the sentiment of the people. Sarbananda has led the BJP to a grand success, gaining power for the first time in the northeastern state.Here are the results: Of the 126 seats in the state the BJP alliance won 86 seats. On its own the BJP won 60 seats. Party allies the Assam Gana Parishad won 14 and the Bodo Peoples front won 12 seats. Under the leadership of incumbent Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi the Congress party was reduced to 26 seats. Sonowal gave credit for the victory to the people of Assam and said he would work for the development of the state.


Keeping up the tradition of changing governments every five years, in Kerala the ruling Congress-led UDF was shown the door in favour of the CPIM led LDF. In these elections, the main contest was between the UDF and the LDF but the BJP had formed a third front with the association of some regional parties. This effort bore fruit in the fact that the vote share of the BJP increased and the party even opened its account in the Southern state. The party's vote share has increased from 6 % in 2011 to 10 percent in 2016, with O Rajagopal becoming the party's first MLA. If we look at the results: Of the 140 seats LDF won 85 UDF 47 BJP 1 and others 6. As far as vote percentage goes then the LDF received 38.8 % of the vote while 36.4 % voted for the UDF. The NDA received 15 % vote and came in third.


The results of Tamil Nadu are the most interesting among the electoral outcomes. Proving exit polls wrong, the people of the state reaffirmed their faith in Jayalalithaa voting her back to power for the 2nd consecutive term after 3 decades. Out of the 232 assembly seats, Jayalalita's AIADMK led alliance won 134 seats. DMK led allaince won 98. AIADMK led alliance took 40.8 percent of vote share while DMK led allaince got 31.6 %, congress got 6.5 % and BJP 2.8%.


The Trinamool Congress swept the election in West Bengal with Mamata Banerjee ducking the anti-incumbency factor in the state. Fighting incumbency, the Trinamool Congress surged towards a majority in an unprecedented victory. In 294 assembly seats Trinamool Congress Got 211 seats.Congress bagged 44 seats and Left managed to get 32 seats.BJP was successful in getting 3 seats.In Terms Of Vote Percentage TMC bagged 44.9 % and Left and Congress Got 26 % & 12.3 % respectively.And BJP bagged 10%. In Jharkhand , both the BJP and the Congress have retained their respective seats in the by-election to two Assembly seats. Godda seat was won by BJP's Amit Kumar Mandal by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sanjay Prasad Yadav by about three thousands votes. Congress' Bittu Singh alias Devendra Singh won the Panki seat by defeating his nearest JMM candidate Kushwaha Shashi Bhushan Mehta by nearly three thousands five hundred votes. In Meghalaya, Purno A Sangma's son, Conrad Sangma of National People's Party (NPP) won the bye-election to the Tura Parliamentary Constituency. Conrad defeated his strong opponent, Chief Minister's Mukul Sangma's wife Dikkanchi Shira of Congress by a huge margin of 1,92,212 votes. Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the people of five states where assembly elections were held. Addressing party workers at BJP headquarters in New Delhi, prime minister said that the election results in five states are great one for the party and NDA and it will further boost the enthusiasm of party workers. 


Copyright © All Rights Reserved.

Powered by:

Home Writers of Tripura North Tripura.Unakoti News
About Us Article in Bengali Dhalai Tripura.Khowai News
National Poem in Bengali West Tripura. Sepahijali News
  Sports South Ttripura. Gomati News
Gallery Business
Advertisement Article
Privacy Policy Features
Contact Us Complaints Redressal